The Ugly Truth

I’m going to take a break from the school assignments and the documentation of the publishing process in order to write something that will be infinitely more important than either of those.

I’m going to talk about depression.

If you had a knee-jerk reaction of feeling uncomfortable, good–you probably should. Depression isn’t supposed to be a feel good topic. I want you to hold onto that discomfort. Sit with it. Let it fill you up. As a human being, depression is something you’ll encounter in your life, either in yourself or in someone you care about. Yes, it’s unsettling, but by holding that nervous energy now, maybe you can learn how better to make it more comfortable.

I’ve struggled with depression ever since middle school. It’s something that lives inside of me, and to a great extent, it will never truly leave me. I have bad days. Sometimes I have…

View original post 965 more words

One thought on “The Art of Compassion: How to Care for Someone With Depression

Leave a Reply

