rachelclare93

It is time for us all to stand up and speak out for mental health.

I want people to engage with World Mental Health Day. I wondered how to do this, and I realised that in order to get people involved and tackle the stigma, we need to get personal. Increasingly we hear statistics which tell us how many people suffer from mental health problems, however, they remain just numbers, and they are not words from someone whom you can identity with. I realised that people are more likely to engage with a friend’s story, and this could be a way in which I can try to tackle the ugly stigma that surrounds mental health. Therefore, my own personal experience of struggling with depression will inform this article. I am not doing this because I want your sympathy, and nor do I want the attention. In fact, the idea of…

View original post 1,760 more words

Leave a Reply

