The world we live in seems so busy nowadays. It seems like we are always doing something, going somewhere, doing this assignment or that assignment. There are these priorities we have in our life and that usually dictates what we do and what we are too busy for. One thing I never want to be too busy for is my friends. I don’t ever want to be too busy where I can’t be there for one of my friends. If I have to lose sleep to be there for a friend when I should have been doing homework during that time then that’s fine.

The thing is I don’t think anyone is ever really too busy for someone. It’s all about priorities. If a friend continually tells you they are too busy or continually gives that excuse for why they didn’t get back to you when needed them, then I can tell you that person does not see you as priority in their life. In the end, it comes down to that they don’t really value you, and in some instances, they may be basically avoiding you. It could be their way of saying you aren’t worth my time.

No one should ever be too busy for people they care about. I never want to be that person. I want to be there for my friends even if I have to lose sleep or rearrange my schedule. I’m beginning to see that the phrase “I’m really busy” is a cop out. Sometimes it may be a legit excuse, but if it’s used often than that person is just showing you that your problems and you are not in her priorities. In fact, that could be their nice way of trying to distance you from them.

That leads me to another topic, what’s been bugging me for a long while is how people are not straight up with each other. I mean if you don’t want to be friends anymore because of a fight we got into, then say that. People don’t realize that being straight up is more mature than just avoiding someone or giving them the cold shoulder. Communication is key in all relationships. Therefore, in friendship there has to be communication as well. Honestly, just be real with the person if you don’t want to be friends. However, I say that as in be real but be nice. No yelling or screaming that you don’t want to be friends. It’s more mature to communicate and not play a game, than to drag people around because you don’t want to hurt their feelings. However, this may seem like kind gesture it only drags the person on and puts them through more pain then just being mature and communicating. It especially puts them through more pain if that person is trying to reconcile the friendship. This also applies to flirting and couple relationships as well. I don’t understand why we aren’t just direct with each other and communicate instead of playing a stupid game of being fake.

That conculdes my rambling thoughts.

Leave a Reply

